• In 1912, a small, local Fraternity of Catholic women at the University of Michigan, in Ann Arbor, was struggling. The organization had originally been formed by Father Edward D. Kelly in 1909.

    Theta Phi Alpha reveres these ten women as its founders

                                    Dorothy Caughey Phalan                                
    Katrina Caughey Ward

    Mildred Connely
    Selma Gilday
    Otilia Leuchtweis O'Hara
    Amelia McSweeney
    Camilla Ryan Sutherland
    Helen Ryan Quinlan
    May C. Ryan
    Eva Stroh Bauer Everson    



    The founding of Theta Phi Alpha is a story of a group of young friends, not unlike the members of today. They were faced with a myriad of challenges and issues on their campus. By joining together, they provided support and friendship to one another, to meet the challenges that they faced and to create an organization that would enable future generations to share that sisterhood. We recognize the contributions of the sisters who have gone before us and acknowledge that, without them, our experience today would be very different.